Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

In Google Calendar, you can have multiple calendars that you add events to. Each calendar can have different sharing settings.
Share an existing calendar

You can share the main calendar for your account, or another calendar you created.

Note: You can only edit your sharing settings from a computer, not the mobile app.

  1. Open Google Calendar on a computer.
  2. On the left, find My Calendars. You may need to click to expand it.
  3. Find the calendar you want to share and click the arrow next to it.
    Menu on hover over calendar name
  4. Select Share this Calendar.
  5. Under Share with specific people, add the email address of the person you want to share with.
  6. For Permission Settings, choose an option in the drop-down menu. Learn more about these options below.
  7. Click Add person, if they aren't already added.
  8. Click Save.

Once you click Save, the person you shared your calendar with will get an email invitation to view your calendar. If they click the link in the email, your calendar will be added to their "Other calendars" list.

 

Control what others can see


Permission settings

When you share your calendar with someone (see directions above), you can decide how they see your events and whether they can also make changes like adding or editing events.

Here's what people can do with each sharing option:
Make changes AND manage sharing

  • Change sharing settings
  • Add and edit events
  • See details for all events, including private ones
  • See the time zone setting for the calendar
  • Restore or permanently delete events from the calendar's Trash


Make changes to events

  • Add and edit events
  • See details for all events, including private ones
  • See the time zone setting for the calendar
  • Restore or permanently delete events from the calendar's Trash


See all event details

  • See details for all events except those marked as private
  • See the time zone setting for the calendar


See free/busy information (no details)

See when your calendar is booked and when it has free time, but not the names or other details of your events.

Note: Events from Gmail that have the "Only me" visibility setting aren't visible to anyone you've shared your calendar with, even people with "Make changes" access, unless you change the sharing settings for the event or the default setting for events from Gmail.